Winnipeg Branch


Phone: +1-(204) 996-3422

Mailing Address

637 Niagara St
Winnipeg, MB R3N 0V0


The Winnipeg Branch was originally formed as a Branch of the Canadian Institute of International Affairs (CIIA) from three local groups known as the Canadian League. The Winnipeg Branch, the largest of the original 1928 branches, was one of the most active branches during the 1930s. In 1935 the Winnipeg Branch began sponsoring popular radio broadcasts on international affairs. John W. Dafoe, editor of the Winnipeg Free Press, contributed greatly to the growth and success of the Branch, first becoming vice-president and later president of the CIIA.

In 2008, a group of individuals associated with Winnipeg’s business, academic and military constituencies came together to reestablish the Winnipeg Branch. The Branch was formally reestablished at a General Meeting on November 19, 2008, becoming the first Branch created under the new Canadian International Council (CIC).

Branch Executive Leadership

Brad Kirbyson

Ken Bridges

Stephen Barber

Joanna Książek

Past President
Nicholas Hirst

Social Media & Communications
Clive Caton (co-ordinator)
Ayla Slessor
Robert Nash
Joanna Książek

Ken Bridges
Buzz Currie
Patricia Kumbakisaka
Robert Nash

University Outreach Advisory
Dr. James Fergusson (University of Manitoba)
Dr. Kristi Kenyon (University of Winnipeg)

Student Representatives
Diego Chacon (University of Manitoba)
Oladele (Dele) Ojewole (University of Winnipeg)

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Featured Photo: Members of the Manitoba Branch of the CIC attended a reception with the UK Consul General in Calgary, Caroline Saunders, at the Manitoba Legislature on 10 April 2017. CIC Winnipeg