Chair of the Advisory Board

Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, PC, CC.  

Members of the Advisory Board

Mohammad Al-Zaibak 

Current Senator, Past Chair of the Canadian Arab Business Council. President and CEO of Canadian Development and Marketing Corporation.

Jon Allen

Former Canadian Ambassador to Israel and Spain.  Senior Fellow, Munk School of Global Affairs.

James Appleyard – CIC member, National Office Branch

President, Freycinet Ventures; Chair, Stewards’ Circle, CIC; Chair, Gardiner Museum; Former director of briefing tours, Canadian Institute of International Affairs.

Tom Axworthy, OC – CIC member, Winnipeg Branch

Former Principal Secretary to Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau.  Senior Fellow, Munk School of Global Affairs and Massey College. Secretary-General, Interaction Council.

Hon. Perrin Beatty, PC, OC

Former Secretary of State for External Affairs. Former Minister of National Defence. CEO, Canadian Chamber of Commerce.

Peter Braid – CIC member, Toronto Branch

Former MP, Kitchener-Waterloo. CEO, Insurance Brokers of Canada.

Elham Farah

Former President, Canadian Institute of International Affairs, Hamilton Branch: With husband Joe, owner of Farah’s Food Markets, Mini-Mart, and Hasty Markets.

Doug Goold – CIC member, Toronto Branch

Former President, Canadian Institute of International Affairs and Canadian International Council.  Author, editor, and Senior Fellow, Massey College.

Patrick Graham

Award-winning author, war correspondent, and journalist.

Robert Greenhill – CIC member, Montreal Branch

Executive Chair, Global Canada.  Former Managing Director and Chief Business Officer, World Economic Forum. Former President of Canadian International Development Agency. 

Franklyn Griffiths

Professor Emeritus, Univ. of Toronto:  Leading authority on the Arctic and acted as Special Adviser to Hon. Joe Clark when Mr. Clark was Secretary of State for External Affairs.

Lawrence Herman – CIC member, Toronto Branch

Chair of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal’s National Advisory Committee. Leading author on international trade and Senior Fellow of C.D. Howe Institute.

Thomas Kieran, OC – CIC member, Toronto Branch (complimentary as a CIC Steward)

Former President, McLeod Young Weir; Former CEO, C.D. Howe Institute. Former Chair, Canadian Institute of Advanced Research and Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council.  

Nurjehan Mawani, CM – CIC member, Toronto Branch

Vice-Chairperson, International Development Research Centre; Former Chair and CEO, Immigration and Refugee Appeal Board. Former diplomatic representative of the Aga Khan Development Network to the Kyrgyz Republic and Afghanistan.

Rosemary McCarney

Former Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Office of the United Nations and the Conference on Disarmament. Former CEO, Plan Canada. Senior Fellow, Massey College.  

Marcia McClung – CIC member, Toronto Branch

President, Marcia McClung Consulting. Former President, Applause Communications.  Leading activist on women’s issues.

Bessma Momani

Assistant Vice-President, Univ. of Waterloo.  Senior Fellow, Centre for International Governance Innovation.  Board Member, International Development Research Centre. 

Kim Nossal, FRSC – CIC member, National Capital Branch

Professor Emeritus, Political Science, Queen’s University. Former President, Canadian Political Science Association and Editor, International Journal.  Author of Canada Alone and many other works on international issues.

Maureen O’Neil, OC

Has served as President of Canadian Health Research Centre, the International Development Research Centre, and the North-South Institute. Past Chair of the CIC.  

Hon. André Ouellet, PC

Former Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs.  Having been elected to the House of Commons when Lester Pearson was prime minister, André served in the cabinets of Pierre Trudeau, John Turner, and Jean Chrétien for whom he was foreign minister.

Elizabeth Riddell-Dixon – CIC member, Toronto Branch

Professor Emerita, Western University.  Leading authority on the Arctic.  Currently Senior Fellow of Bill Graham Centre and Massey College.

Irene Sage – CIC member, Waterloo Branch

Former Director, Foundation for International Security, London.  Trustee, Cambodia Trust.   Former President, Waterloo Branch, CIIA. Former Chair, Library Committee, CIIA.

John Stackhouse

Senior Vice-President, Royal Bank of Canada. Former Editor-in-Chief, The Globe and Mail.  Author and award-winning journalist. Senior Fellow, Munk School of Global Affairs.

William Thorsell, O Ont – CIC member (complimentary as a CIC Steward)

Former Editor-in Chief, The Globe and Mail; Former CEO, Royal Ontario Museum.  

Stephen Wallace – CIC member, Toronto Branch

Former Secretary to the Governor General.  Senior Public Servant who was Vice-President of the Afghanistan Task Force and Associate Deputy Minister for the Department of Canadian Heritage.

Gerald Wright – CIC member, National Capital Branch

Former Vice-President, Donner Canadian Foundation.  Senior Adviser to several ministers.  Former Chair, Governance Committee, CIC.

David Zimmer

Longest serving Minister of Indigenous Affairs in Ontario history.  Former chair of Ontario Immigration and Refugee Board.  Founder of Waterloo branch of Canadian Institute of International Affairs.