The Canadian International Council brings together a host of Canadian academics, researchers and policy makers. Here are a few of our members who are happy to be contacted by the press for comment or interview.

Christopher Adams

Political Scientist; Rector of St. Paul’s College at the University of Manitoba

Expertise: Canadian politics, Manitoba politics, polling and survey research, Metis issues and politics, Indigenous issues in Manitoba

Contact: adamsc@umanitoba.ca, 204-474-8581

Michael Agosti Michael T. Agosti

Senior Advisor on Market Access Issues for Alberta Energy; formerly a Senior Advisor at the Department of Foreign Affairs Canada (Africa Bureau, International Crime and Terrorism Division, Greater China Division, Canadian Trade Office in Taipei, Taiwan)

Expertise: Canadian Foreign Policy, energy Security, post-conflict/fragile state development, Asia Pacific, United Nations

Contact: michael.t.agosti@gmail.com, 780-245-1981

Michael Bell Michael Dougall Bell

Senior Fellow, The Norman Paterson School of International Affairs (NPSIA), Carleton University; Adjunct Professor of Political Science, University of Windsor; Senior Adviser, Centre for International Policy Studies (CIPS), University of Ottawa

Expertise: Middle East politics, conflict management, conflict resolution

Contact: mbell@uwindsor.ca, 613-746-3355

Jean-Christophe Boucher Jean-Christophe Boucher

Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, MacEwan University

Expertise: Conflict analysis, Conflict management, Canadian foreign and defence policies, methodology

Contact: jean-christophe.boucher@macewan.ca, 780-497-4299

Madelaine_Drohan Madelaine Drohan

Canadian Correspondent, The Economist; author of The 9 Habits of Highly Successful Resource Economics (Canadian International Council) and Making a Killing: How and why corporations use armed force to do business (Random House, Canada and Lyons House, USA)Expertise: Canadian business and politics in a global context, natural resource policy, changing media landscapeContact: md@madelainedrohan.com
David Dyment David Dyment

Author of ‘Doing the Continental: A New Canadian-American Relationship’.  Senior research associate, Centre on North American Politics and Society, Carleton University; Past President of the National Capital Branch of the Canadian International Council.

Expertise: Canadian-American relations, Canadian foreign policy

Contact: david@dyment.ca, 613-301-2797    

Paul Evans Paul Evans

Professor, Institute of Asian Research and Liu Institute for Global Issues, University of British Columbia

Expertise: Asian security matters, Canada as an Asia Pacific country, Canada-China relations

Contact: paul.evans@ubc.ca, 604-822-2533

James Fergusson Dr. James Fergusson

Director, Centre for Defence and Security Studies; Professor, Department of Political Studies, University of Manitoba

Expertise: International relations, strategic studies, Canada-US defence relations, and Canadian Foreign and Defence Policy

Contact: james.fergusson@ad.umanitoba.ca  

Jeremy Kinsman Jeremy Kinsman

Resident International Scholar at the Institute of Governmental Studies, University of California, Berkeley; Distinguished Visiting Diplomat at Ryerson University, having been Canadian Minister in Washington, Ambassador in Moscow, Rome and Brussels (EU), and High Commissioner in London

Expertise: Canada-US relations and North American integration; Russia and the former Soviet Union; the EU and its member states; democracy development, including in the Middle East

Contact: Kinsmanj@shaw.ca, 250-294-1920 (British Columbia), 760-537-7779 (California)

Paul Meyer Paul Meyer

Adjunct Professor of International Studies; Fellow in International Security, Simon Fraser University, Senior Fellow, The Simons Foundation

Expertise: Diplomacy, Canadian foreign policy, arms control and disarmament,international cyber security, nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament regime, outer space security, conflict prevention, UN and international organizations

Contact: pmeyer@sfu.ca, 778-782-8520

Alex Moens Professor Alexander Moens

Simon Fraser University; 2015 Eisenhower Fellow at the NATO Defense College in Rome

Expertise: NATO, American and Canadian foreign and defence policy

Contact: moens@sfu.ca

Louise Ouimet Louise Ouimet

Past Chair, Africa Study Group

Expertise: Africa, policy dialogue, governance, decentralization, capacity development, program management, Results-Based-Management

Contact: louimet@govplusintl.com

Myroslav Shkandrij Myroslav Shkandrij

Professor of Slavic Studies, University of Manitoba

Expertise: Ukrainian literature and culture, Soviet policies in Ukraine, nationalism, Ukrainian-Jewish cultural relations, Ukrainian attitudes toward the present conflict with Russia

Contact: myroslav.shkandrij@umanitoba.ca, 204-339-4996

Dr. Gerald Wright

Senior Fellow, Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University

Expertise: Japan, the International Relations of East Asia

Contact: gerald.wright@sympatico.ca, 613-746-6149